2024 AEW Forbidden Door results: Strickland and Ospreay Steal the Show

The 2024 AEW Forbidden Door event ended with a bang as Swerve Strickland and Will Ospreay delivered an unforgettable main event, showcasing world-class athleticism, dramatic near falls, and compelling storytelling. This year’s AEW and New Japan Pro-Wrestling crossover event, held in Elmont, NY, built up momentum throughout the night, culminating in a spectacular finale.

Strickland and Ospreay’s match was a high-octane display of technical prowess and inventive spots, including a memorable sequence where Ospreay ran up Strickland’s body into a Styles Clash. The action escalated with Strickland’s avalanche Olympic slam and a high-risk Swerve Stomp that brought the crowd to its feet. Despite Ospreay’s valiant efforts, Strickland retained his title after an intense and emotionally charged encounter.

Another highlight of the night was the champion vs. champion match between Mercedes Mone and Stephanie Vaquer, which marked Britt Baker’s return. Mone’s victory in a hard-fought battle added to the event’s drama and excitement.

Other notable matches included Jon Moxley’s ruthless defense against Tetsuya Naito, who ultimately reclaimed the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship, and the chaotic TNT Championship ladder match, where Jack Perry emerged victorious.

The event also featured standout performances from stars like Bryan Danielson, who advanced in the Owen Hart Cup Tournament by defeating Shingo Takagi, and the high-energy tag team match where The Elite triumphed over The Acclaimed and Hiroshi Tanahashi.

AEW Forbidden Door 2024 Results:

AEW World Championship — Swerve Strickland (c) vs. Will Ospreay: Strickland def. Ospreay to retain the title.

IWGP World Heavyweight Championship — Jon Moxley (c) vs. Tetsuya Naito: Naito def. Moxley to win the title.

TBS Championship and NJPW Strong Women’s Championship — Mercedes Mone (c) vs. Stephanie Vaquer (c): Mone def. Vaquer to retain the TBS title and win the NJPW strong women’s championship.

AEW TNT Championship — Konosuke Takeshita vs. Mark Briscoe vs. Jack Perry vs. Dante Martin vs. Lio Rush vs. El Phantasmo (Ladder match): Jack Perry def. Briscoe, Martin, Phantasmo, Rush and Takeshita to win the vacant TNT title.

The Learning Tree (Chris Jericho and Big Bill) and Jeff Cobb vs. Samoa Joe, Hook and Katsuyori Shibata: Hook, Joe and Shibata def. The Learning Tree and Cobb via pinfall.

Orange Cassidy vs. Zack Sabre Jr: Sabre def. Cassidy via submission.

AEW Women’s World Championship — “Timeless” Toni Storm vs. Mira Shirakawa: Storm def. Shirakawa to retain her title.

Bryan Danielson vs. Shingo Takagi (Men’s Owen Hart Cup Tournament match, Round 1): Danielson def. Takagi via submission to advance in the Owen Hart Cup Tournament.

The Elite (Matthew Jackson, Nicholas Jackson and Kazuchika Okada) vs. The Acclaimed (Anthony Bowens and Max Caster) and Hiroshi Tanahashi: The Elite def. The Acclaimed and Hiroshi Tanahashi via pinfall.

MJF vs. Hechicero: MJF def. Hechicero via pinfall.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (Yota Tsuji, Titan and Hiromu Takahashi) vs. The Lucha Brothers (Penta El Zero Miedo and Rey Fenix) and Mistico: Mistico and The Lucha Bros. def. Los Ingobernables de Japon via submission.

Mariah May vs. Saraya (Women’s Owen Hart Cup Tournament match, Round 1): Mariah May def. Saraya via pinfall.

Kris Statlander and Momo Watanabe vs. Willow Nightingale and Tam Nakano: am Nakano and Willow Nightingale def. Kris Statlander and Momo Watanabe via pinfall.

The House of Black (Malakai Black and Brody King) vs. Tomohiro Ishii and Kyle O’Reilly vs. Roderick Strong and Gabriel Kidd vs. Private Party (Zay and Quen): The House of Black wins via pinfall.

Kyle Fletcher vs. Serpentico: Fletcher def. Serpentico

Don't Miss