Money in the Bank match winner history

The Money in the Bank match features multiple participants competing in a ladder match with the ultimate prize of a contract, referred to as the “Money in the Bank” contract. The contract grants the winner a guaranteed championship opportunity for a specific WWE title (such as the WWE Championship or Universal Championship) at any time they choose within the next year.

The allure of the Money in the Bank contract is that it allows the holder to capitalize on a vulnerable champion, often catching them off guard and potentially changing the course of a championship reign. The contract holder can cash in their opportunity by simply handing the briefcase to the referee and challenging the champion to a match on the spot. The match has produced memorable moments and has launched the careers of numerous WWE Superstars, as the contract’s unpredictability adds an element of surprise to championship storylines.

The first-ever Money in the Bank match took place in 2005 at WrestleMania 21, held in Los Angeles. It was an instant hit among fans, offering a unique concept where multiple competitors battled for a contract that guaranteed a championship opportunity at any given time within the following year. Edge emerged victorious in this inaugural match, etching his name into the history books.

The Money in the Bank match was a WrestleMania exclusive match until 2010, when Money in the Bank got its own pay-per-view. Since then, it’s been an annual event. The introduction of the women’s match in 2017 further enhanced the event’s allure and showcased the incredible talent of female superstars.

Here is a list of all the Money in the Bank winners.

Men’s Money in the Bank match winners:

  • WrestleMania 21, 2005: Edge
  • WrestleMania 22, 2006: Rob Van Dam
  • WrestleMania 23, 2007: Mr. Kennedy
  • WrestleMania 24, 2008: CM Punk
  • WrestleMania 25, 2009: CM Punk
  • WrestleMania 26, 2010: Jack Swagger
  • Money in the Bank, 2010: Kane and The Miz
  • Money in the Bank, 2011: Daniel Bryan and Alberto Del Rio
  • Money in the Bank, 2012: Dolph Ziggler and John Cena
  • Money in the Bank, 2013: Damien Sandow and Randy Orton
  • Money in the Bank, 2014: Seth Rollins
  • Money in the Bank, 2015: Sheamus
  • Money in the Bank, 2016: Dean Ambrose
  • Money in the Bank, 2017: Baron Corbin
  • Money in the Bank, 2018: Braun Strowman
  • Money in the Bank, 2019: Brock Lesnar
  • Money in the Bank, 2020: Otis
  • Money in the Bank, 2021: Big E
  • Money in the Bank, 2022: Austin Theory

Women’s Money in the Bank match winners:

  • Money in the Bank, 2017: Carmella
  • Money in the Bank, 2018: Alexa Bliss
  • Money in the Bank, 2019: Bayley
  • Money in the Bank, 2020: Asuka
  • Money in the Bank, 2021: Nikki A.S.H.
  • Money in the Bank, 2022: Liv Morgan

Leave a Comment

Keep Reading

Cool Finds

Monopoly: Wrestlemania Edition Board Game