The Top 5 Longest WWE Intercontinental Championship Reigns

The WWE Intercontinental Championship, often referred to as the “workhorse title,” has a storied history filled with legendary wrestlers who have left an indelible mark on the sport.

Known for its prestigious lineage, the Intercontinental Championship has been a stepping stone for the superstars to reach the pinnacle of WWE. The WWE Intercontinental Championship has seen many legendary reigns, but the top five longest reigns stand out for their significance and impact on the wrestling world.

1. Gunther – 666 Days

When Gunther won the Intercontinental Championship in June 2022, many believed he would be one of the best champions in WWE history. However, he exceeded expectations by becoming the longest-reigning champion ever.

Gunther’s reign is noted for its exceptional in-ring performances, with standout matches against Sheamus, Drew McIntyre, Ricochet, Shinsuke Nakamura, Rey Mysterio, Braun Strowman, and more. Even outside of title defenses, he showcased his prowess, notably being the final person eliminated in the 2023 Royal Rumble by winner Cody Rhodes. Gunther dominated for nearly two years before losing the title to Sami Zayn.

2. The Honky Tonk Man – 454 Days

The Honky Tonk Man, with his Elvis-inspired persona and cocky demeanor, holds the record for the longest single reign as WWE Intercontinental Champion. He captured the title on June 2, 1987, by defeating Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat. Honky’s reign lasted an incredible 454 days, ending on August 29, 1988, when he lost to The Ultimate Warrior at SummerSlam in just 31 seconds.

Honky’s reign was characterized by his underhanded tactics and willingness to do whatever it took to retain the title. He often relied on disqualifications, count-outs, and outside interference to keep his championship intact. Despite his methods, Honky Tonk Man’s lengthy reign brought significant attention to the Intercontinental Championship and solidified his place in WWE history.

3. Pedro Morales – 424 Days

Pedro Morales, a beloved figure in wrestling, had a remarkable reign as Intercontinental Champion that spanned 424 days. Morales won the title on November 23, 1981, by defeating Don Muraco.

Morales was known for his technical prowess and ability to connect with the audience, making him a fan favorite. His reign ended on January 22, 1983, when he lost to Don Muraco in a grueling match. Pedro Morales’ tenure as Intercontinental Champion remains one of the most respected and celebrated periods in the history of the title.

4. Randy Savage – 414 Days

“Macho Man” Randy Savage, one of the most charismatic and talented wrestlers in WWE history, held the Intercontinental Championship for 414 days. Savage won the title on February 8, 1986, by defeating Tito Santana. His reign was a highlight of his illustrious career, as he brought unparalleled intensity and flair to the championship.

Savage’s reign included memorable feuds and matches, particularly his rivalry with Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat. Their iconic bout at WrestleMania III is still regarded as one of the greatest matches in wrestling history. Savage eventually lost the title to Steamboat on March 29, 1987, in a match that remains etched in the annals of WWE lore.

5. Don Muraco – 385 Days

Don Muraco, also known as “The Magnificent Muraco,” held the Intercontinental Championship for an impressive 385 days. He first won the title on June 20, 1981, by defeating Pedro Morales. Muraco’s reign was marked by his physicality and aggressive style, making him a formidable champion.

Muraco successfully defended the title against a range of opponents, showcasing his versatility and toughness. His reign eventually came to an end on February 11, 1984, when he lost to Tito Santana. Don Muraco’s dominance as Intercontinental Champion solidified his status as one of the most influential wrestlers of his era.

These champions not only held the title for impressive lengths of time but also contributed to some of the most memorable moments in WWE history. Their reigns are a testament to their skill, dedication, and ability to captivate audiences, ensuring that the Intercontinental Championship remains one of the most loved titles in the WWE.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Don't Miss